[ Admissions ]

Chamber Music Session

June 28 – August 9, 2020

For six weeks each summer, Norfolk opens its doors to advanced individual instrumentalists as well as preformed ensembles including piano trios, string quartets and woodwind and brass quintets from around the world.

All participants of the Chamber Session will receive an Ellen Battell Stoeckel Fellowship covering the full cost of tuition, housing and meals.

Participants are offered a wide array of intensive coaching and performance opportunities, including the extraordinary opportunity to perform alongside the Artist-Faculty in the Norfolk Festival’s main concert series. And all Fellows perform during the Festival as part of the popular Young Artists’ Performance Series. All concerts are live streamed as well as audio and video recorded.

Piano Fellows are offered the opportunity to work on repertoire of their choice during a public masterclass led by members the of Festival’s Piano Faculty on the stage of the Festival’s historic concert hall.

Fellows who arrive as individual instrumentalists will be formed into string quartets, woodwind quintets, a brass quintet and mixed-instrument ensembles.

“Undoubtedly, my experience in Norfolk was crucial and helped me so much in winning a prize in this major international competition. All the time I was in Connecticut, I was inspired to practice so hard and so focused. I have tremendously enjoyed the world-class teaching and the facilities on the festival premises. I gained so much concert experience by playing in the wonderful Shed frequently in such diverse groups. I will never forget my time in Norfolk, my colleagues, my outstanding teachers and coaches and all the supportive and encouraging staff.

Florian Mitrea, Norfolk ’14



Brentano String Quartet
Dover  Quartet
St. Lawrence String Quartet


Eugene Drucker violin
Ani Kavafian violin
Lawrence Dutton viola
Steven Tenenbom viola
Ole Akahoshi cello


Boris Berman
Robert Blocker
Melvin Chen
Ann Schein
Gilles Vonsattel
Wei-Yi Yang


Ransom Wilson flute
James Austin Smith oboe
Stephen Taylor oboe
Romie de Guise-Langlois clarinet
David Shifrin clarinet
Frank Morelli bassoon


William Purvis horn
Mary Elizabeth Bowden trumpet
Allan Dean trumpet
Scott Hartman trombone

Artist Faculty subject to change without notice.